A charming debut novel about friendship, the kindness of strangers, and the courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times.

AJ Pearce's debut, about a young woman in 1940s London who longs to be a war correspondent inadvertently becomes a secret advice columnist, is perfect for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.



Fill out my online form.

About the Book

Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are doing their bit for the war effort and trying to stay cheerful, despite the German planes making their nightly raids. Emmy dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent, and when she spots a job advertisement she seizes her chance; but after a rather unfortunate misunderstanding she finds herself typing letters for the formidable Henrietta Bird, renowned advice columnist of Woman’s Friend magazine.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight into the bin. But as Emmy reads desperate pleas, she wants to help and so begins to secretly write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

A love letter to the enduring power of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and the courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times, and “headlined by its winning lead character, who always keeps carrying on, Pearce's novel is a delight” (Publishers Weekly). Irrepressibly funny and enormously moving, Dear Mrs. Bird is “funny and poignant…about the strength of women and the importance of friendship” (Star Tribune, Minneapolis).




Join, Read, and Discuss with us All Month Long

Get Your Copy Here

eBook

Trade Paperback



Read more Book Club Picks