Skip to Main Content

Weeaboo

Published by Oni Press
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

About The Book

"Weeaboo is a graphic novel snapshot of growing up, by turns playful and serious, and a celebration of friendship and fandom, imperfections and all." — Foreword Reviews

Perfect for fans of American Born Chinese, Peepo Choo and Sacred Heart, WEEABOO is a celebration and dissection of anime fandom, small towns, and internet culture from debut artist, Alissa M. Sallah. 

It’s their senior year of high school and three friends are preparing for the big anime convention happening after graduation! Even though they’ve known each other for years, they’re finding out that reality isn’t like a cartoon, and that people grow up and sometimes apart. This is a story about appropriation, identity, and what it means to change. 

About The Author

ALISSA SALLAH is a cartoonist (and cosplayer) from small town Ohio. She edits and contributes to the Bonfire Yearly Anthology (STRATOS, TOPIA, SILK & METAL), has been featured in the BITCH PLANET Triple Feature, the YAKUZA 6 SONG OF LIFE artbook and was the colorist on the Image comic series SLEEPLESS. Her work can be found at alissasallah.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Oni Press (November 16, 2021)
  • Length: 280 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781620109397
  • Grades: 7 and up

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Weeaboo is a graphic novel snapshot of growing up, by turns playful and serious, and a celebration of friendship and fandom, imperfections and all."

– Foreword Reviews

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images