Skip to Main Content

Unfollow Your Passion

How to Create a Life that Matters to You

About The Book

Named a Best Feel-Good Book of 2021 by The Washington Post

A hilarious and honest not-quite-self-help book in the vein of Buy Yourself the F*cking Lilies and I Used to Have a Plan.

Every person on the planet wants their life to mean something. The problem is that you’ve been told there’s only one way to find that meaning.

In Unfollow Your Passion, Terri Trespicio—whose TEDx talk has more than six million views—questions everything you think you need: passion (fun, but fleeting), plans (flimsy at best), and a bucket list (eye roll), to name a few.

Instead, she shows you how (and why) to flip society, culture, and the #patriarchy the bird so you can live life on your terms. Trespicio effortlessly guides you through her method of unhooking yourself from other people’s agendas, boning up on the skills to move you forward, and exploring your own creativity, memory, and intuition to unlock your unique path to meaning—while also confronting the challenges that stop you in your tracks, like boredom, loss, and fear.

Trespicio delivers a personal growth book unlike any other with insights that are “wildly funny and infinitely compelling,” (Farnoosh Torabi, host of the So Money podcast). Fans of Glennon Doyle’s Untamed and Luvvie Ajayi Jones’s Professional Troublemaker will love this fresh and fearless take on what it means to unfollow the rules you were given.

About The Author

Photograph by Kimberly Vandrilla

Terri Trespicio is an award-winning writer, in-demand speaker, and brand advisor whose TEDx talk, “Stop Searching for Your Passion,” has been viewed more than six million times. She earned her MFA in creative writing from Emerson College and won first place in the Baltimore Review’s 2016 literary contest. Her writing has also been featured in Marie Claire, Jezebel, Business Insider, and others. Visit TerriTrespicio.com for more information. 

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atria Books (December 21, 2021)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982169244

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

 “Engaging, no-nonsense, and challenges conventional thinking in all the best ways? Terri Trespicio’s Unfollow Your Passion is everything I love in a self-help book and then some! Read it and remember: it’s your life and you get to make—and break—the rules.”  —SARAH KNIGHT, New York Times bestselling author of The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck 

 “Right here, right now, when it’s so needed, Terri Trespicio arrives. This book holds the key to a box that only you can unlock.”  —SETH GODIN, author of The Practice

 “As the original multi-passionate entrepreneur, I’ve been saying for years that the push for a single passion is outdated. In Unfollow Your Passion, Terri Trespicio writes with power, style, and wit about the question we all struggle with: What is it I should, or can, do with my life?” —MARIE FORLEO, New York Times bestselling author of Everything Is Figureoutable

Unfollow Your Passion is A. MUST. READ. for anyone looking for a more meaningful life. Compelling, funny, and actionable, no motivation required.” —MEL ROBBINS, internationally bestselling author of The 5 Second Rule and The High 5 Habit

“An especially meaningful and much-needed read as the workplace continues to change in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.” –Booklist 

"It’s a rare book that can effectively mix words from Viktor Frankl and Dilbert, but this one pulls it off. Trespicio dishes pragmatic advice with finesse." Publishers Weekly

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

You may also like: Advice and How-to Staff Picks