Thunder Bay

A Thriller

LIST PRICE $25.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

Stoirm’s secrets are worth killing for in this gripping thriller for readers of All the Missing Girls and Neon Prey.

When reporter Rebecca Connolly gets a tip that suspected murderer Roddie Drummond will be returning to the island of Stoirm, she smells a story. Though never convicted in the death of his girlfriend Mhairi fifteen years earlier, Drummond is still guilty in the eyes of many islanders, and his return for his mother’s funeral is sure to stir up old resentments, hatreds, possibly even violence. Rebecca has another reason for going to Stoirm. Her own father came from there, but he never went back, and he always refused to speak of it or say what drove him away.
                                                          
Defying her editor, Rebecca joins forces with local photographer Chazz Wymark to dig into the mystery surrounding Mhairi's death and her unexplained last words, “Thunder Bay”—the secluded spot on the west coast of the island where, according to local lore, the souls of the dead set off into the afterlife. When a string of violent events erupts across the island, Rebecca discovers the power of secrets, and she must decide what to bury, and what to bring into the light.
 
Longlisted for Bloody Scotland's McIlvanney Prize for best crime book of the year, Thunder Bay has been hailed as "Immersive, compelling . . . [with a] jaw-dropping climax" (Neil Broadfoot).
 

Product Details

  • Publisher: Arcade Crimewise (February 11, 2020)
  • Length: 312 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781950691340

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"The risks Skelton took in creating Thunder Bay have paid off in spades. As well as creating a sympathetic new protagonist, he has crafted an emotionally truthful tale and delivered it in a lyrical style that places him among Scotland's top cadre of crime writers."—Scotsman
 
"Immersive, compelling, and shot through with Skelton's pitch-black humour, Thunder Bay will reverberate like the last echoes of a storm long after you read the draw-dropping climax."—Neil Broadfoot
 
"Skelton builds up the suspense before going in for the kill. A particularly gripping thriller."— Herald

"'Skelton proves once more that he is master of his craft. I can't think of many, if any, other writers who bring such varied and distinctive styles to their books. . . . [He's] a writer who you can't pidgeonhole or pin down. I, for one, can't wait to see what he gives us next."—Scots Whay Hae

"Digs deeply, focuses closely on the families at the heart of events. The novel follows Rebecca's attempts to understand what being an islander means, and her own relationship with the island of Stoirm. I'd say it's [Skelton's] best yet, and I hope there are more to come in this vein."—iScot Magazine

"It's beautifully written, descriptive and atmospheric. The pacing is perfect, and the conclusion unexpected. Douglas Skelton has delivered possibly his best work yet, and that really is saying something! It's a triumph."—Simply Suze Reviews
 
"Douglas Skelton excels at planting little seeds throughout his writing, drawing the reader in, and ensuring that they pull up a chair and watch them grow. He succeeds in intriguing you and keeping you firmly on your seat until the last page is turned."—Chapter in My Life
 
"Dark, brooding, atmospheric and full of mystery, this is a book I would highly recommend you read. I loved it."—Jen Med's Book Reviews
 
"Skelton has produced an evocative, beautiful, and tense tapestry of a read."— Live and Deadly
 
"A gripping and thrilling read from one of the great Scottish crime writers, themes of crime, mystery, secrecy and loyalty all woven together to make Thunder Bay one of those books that will stay with you long after you ve turned the last page."—Kate Noble, The Quiet Knitter

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images