The Sun Sister

A Novel

(Book #6 of The Seven Sisters)
LIST PRICE $28.00
Price may vary by retailer
BUY FROM:

About The Book

“Seven Sisters books just keep getting better and better” (Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow) with this sixth epic novel that vividly transports you from the dazzling streets of modern-day New York City to the breathtaking plains of 1940s colonial Kenya.

Electra d’Aplièse is a woman who seems to have it all: as a top model, she has beauty, fame, and wealth. But beneath the glittery veneer, she’s cracking under the pressure of it all. The last straw comes when she finds out her father has died and she turns to alcohol and drugs to ease the pain. As friends and colleagues fear for her health, Electra receives a shocking letter from a complete stranger who claims to be her grandmother.

In 1939, Cecily Huntley-Morgan arrives fresh from New York to Lake Naivasha in Kenya for the exciting chance to stay with her godmother, the famous socialite Kiki Preston. But after a sheltered upbringing, she’s completely astounded by the hedonistic antics of the other ex-pats in the infamous Happy Valley set. Celia soon grows to love her stunning but complicated new home, and she even accepts a proposal of marriage from Bill Forsythe, an enigmatic older cattle farmer. After a shocking discovery and with war looming, Cecily feels isolated and alone. Until she meets a young woman in the woods and makes her a promise that will change the course of her life forever.

Featuring Lucinda Riley’s “engaging and mesmerizing” (Library Journal, starred review) storytelling and filled with unforgettable and moving characters, The Sun Sister explores how love can cross seemingly impossible boundaries.

About The Author

Photograph (c) Roni Rekomaa/Lehtikuva

Lucinda Riley is the New York Times bestselling author of over twenty novels, including The Orchid House, The Girl on the Cliff, and the Seven Sisters series. Her books have sold twenty million copies in thirty-five languages globally. She was born in Ireland and divides her time between England and West Cork with her husband and four children. Visit her online at LucindaRiley.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atria Books (May 19, 2020)
  • Length: 528 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982110642

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Praise for The Moon Sister:

"[A] beautifully written series... A magical adventure."

– Woman's World Magazine

"A breathtaking adventure brimming with cruelty, tragedy, passion, obsession and, most of all, the music, rhythm and spirit of Spain’s gitano community… There is a real fire to this exciting new chapter in the captivating Seven Sisters odyssey, an extraordinary sense of drawing inexorably nearer to solving the intriguing conundrum of Pa Salt’s death and the tantalising mystery of the missing sister.”

– Lancashire Evening Post

Riley's meticulous research and attention to detail immerse readers in historical background, bringing Tiggy and her Spanish birth family to life. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, and Riley's previous novels will adore this anticipated series continuation.” 

– Booklist

"A heartfelt, powerful, and spiritual saga. I don't know how she infuses her characters with so much humanity, passion, warmth and love, keeps the plot moving and brings the past alive so profoundly, but she does so beautifully. If you've ever wondered if writers are magicians, just read one of Lucinda Riley's novels and you'll have the answer."

– M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author

“In each of her series novels, Riley draws magnetic and strong women, polar opposites in personality but all of them fearless and determined. This entry will delight followers of Riley's series, but also appeal to new readers.” 

– Library Journal

"The tension, sweeping descriptions, and multiple subplots catch the reader early and don’t let go. Touches of magical realism and musical culture add to the gorgeous descriptions and historical details."

– Historical Novel Society

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Lucinda Riley

More books in this series: The Seven Sisters