The Summer of Lost Things

(Book #4 of A Love, Lucas Novel)
LIST PRICE $10.99
About The Book

New town, new friends, new guy . . . and an old bucket list. The past haunts the present in the newest installation in the Love, Lucas universe.

After her dad is sentenced to prison time, seventeen-year-old Lucy Nelson and her mother move across the country to start over in the town—and farmhouse—where her mother grew up.

Once settled, Lucy is determined to keep her mind off anything “real” and decides to pass the time by reading a stack of her mother’s childhood books, which has sat in her grandmother’s home for decades. When Lucy finds her mom’s old summer bucket list shoved between the pages of a worn copy of Anne of Green Gables, she’s eager to write her own list to escape her inevitable summer boredom. Feeling brave, she fills it with challenges she’d never normally do and also adds the one thing that her mother had never crossed off the original list: Visit Susan’s grave.

When Lucy befriends Mira and her handsome cousin, Jack, she begins to feel almost normal as they help check off her list. When she asks her mother about Susan, she refuses to talk about her. As Lucy falls for Jack, she yearns to tell him the truth about her dad and her old life but lies about everything instead. When her friends see through the lies and her mom reaches her breaking point over questions about Susan, Lucy must learn to trust her friends, try to bring peace to her mother, and to somehow find the courage to forgive her dad.

About The Author

Chantele Sedgwick is a young adult author, harpist, wife to one, and mom to four. She loves to read (of course), Kit Kats, anything coconut, and is a little obsessed with dinosaurs and Harry Potter. She is the author of Love, Lucas, Switching Gears, and Interlude. Chantele lives in Utah with her family.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Sky Pony (June 2019)
  • Length: 272 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781510743847
  • Grades: 7 - 12
  • Ages: 12 - 18

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Praise for Interlude

“Mia's journey to save her sister threatened to break my heart, even as her relationship with Jax sought to mend it. Have a box of tissues ready. You won't want to miss this moving story of love and sacrifice.” —Kate Watson, author of Seeking Mansfield and Shoot the Moon

"A heartfelt novel about the depth of a sister's love, the weight of choices, and the people who come into our lives and leave us forever changed." —Katie A. Nelson, author of The Duke of Bannerman Prep

"A beautifully crafted tale of love, loss, and loyalty. Mia's feisty determination will quickly win over hearts, while the fast pace and surprise ending will keep readers turning the pages. Interlude is a pitch-perfect YA novel that will appeal to fans of John Green and Abbi Glines." —Olivia Rivers, author of Tone Deaf

“Take one girl who will do anything to save her sick sister, add one rockstar on the run from his troubles, and one stormy family history, and you have Chantele Sedgwick’s Interlude. Sweet, heartfelt, and full of music, it perfectly mixes family drama with a burgeoning romance and hits every note.” —Rebecca Christiansen, author of Maybe in Paris

"Throughout this complex adventure that starts off as a rescue and results in self-discovery, Mia must learn to trust in herself, her family, and new friends. Though the overlying theme of the story is relatively heavy, readers can connect through Mia’s light-hearted narrative voice and relate to the tumbling emotions that the she feels throughout her journey. VERDICT This book, fitting into the same niche as John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places, will be a must-read for those fans."—School Library Journal

“Swift, dialogue-driving pacing keeps pages turning . . . An emotionally satisfying read." —Kirkus Reviews

“A sweet and innocent story, perfect for readers who love happy endings, especially when they seem out of reach.”—Booklist

Praise for Interlude

“Mia's journey to save her sister threatened to break my heart, even as her relationship with Jax sought to mend it. Have a box of tissues ready. You won't want to miss this moving story of love and sacrifice.” —Kate Watson, author of Seeking Mansfield and Shoot the Moon

"A heartfelt novel about the depth of a sister's love, the weight of choices, and the people who come into our lives and leave us forever changed." —Katie A. Nelson, author of The Duke of Bannerman Prep

"A beautifully crafted tale of love, loss, and loyalty. Mia's feisty determination will quickly win over hearts, while the fast pace and surprise ending will keep readers turning the pages. Interlude is a pitch-perfect YA novel that will appeal to fans of John Green and Abbi Glines." —Olivia Rivers, author of Tone Deaf

“Take one girl who will do anything to save her sick sister, add one rockstar on the run from his troubles, and one stormy family history, and you have Chantele Sedgwick’s Interlude. Sweet, heartfelt, and full of music, it perfectly mixes family drama with a burgeoning romance and hits every note.” —Rebecca Christiansen, author of Maybe in Paris

"Throughout this complex adventure that starts off as a rescue and results in self-discovery, Mia must learn to trust in herself, her family, and new friends. Though the overlying theme of the story is relatively heavy, readers can connect through Mia’s light-hearted narrative voice and relate to the tumbling emotions that the she feels throughout her journey. VERDICT This book, fitting into the same niche as John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places, will be a must-read for those fans."—School Library Journal

“Swift, dialogue-driving pacing keeps pages turning . . . An emotionally satisfying read." —Kirkus Reviews

“A sweet and innocent story, perfect for readers who love happy endings, especially when they seem out of reach.”—Booklist

More books from this author: Chantele Sedgwick

More books in this series: A Love, Lucas Novel