Skip to Main Content

The Spiral Labyrinth

Tales of Henghis Hapthorn, Book Two

Published by Night Shade
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

Sherlock Holmes meets Jack Vance’s Dying Earth in The Spiral Labyrinth, the new novel from Matthew Hughes, acclaimed author of Majestrum.

The universe continues to shift away from logic and reason, rewriting its basic operating system, bringing about a new age of sympathetic association, or magic.

It was bad enough when Henghis Hapthorn, Old Earth’s foremost discriminator and diehard empiricist, had to accept this coming of a new age of magic. Now he no longer has the leisure to anticipate and prepare for the inevitable changes. Hapthorn finds himself cast forward and stranded several centuries in the future. This new world of contending wizards and hungry dragons is a difficult one to assimilate, and Hapthorn must do so without his magic-savvy alter ego.

Worse, some entity with a will powerful enough to bend space and time is searching for him through the Nine Planes, bellowing “Bring me Apthorn!” in a voice loud enough to frighten demons.

More books from this author: Matthew Hughes

More books in this series: Tales of Henghis Hapthorn