Skip to Main Content

The Selected Stories of Manly Wade Wellman Volume 5: Owls Hoot in the Daytime & Other Omens

The Selected Stories of Manly Wade Wellman, Volume Five

Published by Night Shade
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

About The Book

Owls Hoot in the Daytime & Other Omens is the 5th and final volume of Night Shade Books’ five volume “Selected Stories of Manly Wade Wellman.” This volume contains all of the John the Balladeer stories (sometimes better known as Silver John), Manly's most famous character.


* Introduction by Karl Edward Wagner
* O Ugly Bird!
* The Desrick on Yandro
* Vandy, Vandy
* One Other
* Call Me From the Valley
* The Little Black Train
* Shiver in the Pines
* Walk Like A Mountain
* On the Hills and Everywhere
* Old Devlins Was A-Waiting
* Nine Yards of Other Cloth
* Wonder As I Wander
* Farther Down the Trail
* Trill Coster’s Burden
* The Spring
* Owls Hoot in the Daytime
* Can These Bones Live?
* Nobody Ever Goes There
* Where Did She Wander?
* Afterword by Gerald W. Page

Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

About The Author

Product Details

  • Publisher: Night Shade (May 1, 2001)
  • Length: 245 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781892389237

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

More books from this author: Manly Wade Wellman

More books in this series: Selected Stories of Manly Wade Wellman