Skip to Main Content

The Scarlet Fig

Or, Slowly Through a Land of Stone, Book Three of the Vergil Magus Series

The Last Manuscript of a Master

It began with an accident, as if Fate had a plan for Vergil Magus . . .

After his trials in the Very Rich City of Averno but before his crowning achievement of a certain magic mirror, the great sorcerer and alchemist finds himself on a journey nothing short of epic. Sure he is slated for death in Rome, Vergil seeks safety in the far reaches of the Empire—and finds a world teeming with wonders and magical oddities.

The “unhistoric” sea adventure is a deft mix of fantastic fact and fable, showcasing the author’s keen attention to the often forgotten connections between them.

“The tale ends with a bang . . . [but Davidson is] far more remarkable as a stylist . . . [He] loves the language, and plays with it . . . spins a narrative thread that twists and turns . . . the result is rhythmic and sonorous.” – Tom Easton, Analog, August 1987
Nominated for the 1987 Nebula Award for Best Novel.

More books from this author: Avram Davidson

More books in this series: Prologue Fantasy