The Next Together

About The Book

Katherine and Matthew are destined to be born again and again, century after century. Each time they are total strangers thrust together under unusual circumstances. Each time their presence changes history for the better. And each time they fall hopelessly in love, only to be tragically separated.

Why does fate keep bringing them together to save the world, and what must they achieve before they can finally be left to love in peace? Maybe the next together will be different. . . .

Told in parallel time streams through a mixture of prose, diary entries, letters, “original” historical documents, news reports, and Internet articles, and spanning the Crimean War, the Siege of Carlisle and the near-future of 2019 and 2039, The Next Together is a glittering, sweeping story of time travel, fate, and the power of first love for fans of Outlander, Passenger (Disney), and The Girl from Everywhere (Harper).

About The Author

Lauren James graduated from the University of Nottingham, where she studied chemistry and physics. She is an Arts Council grant recipient and was longlisted for the 2016 Branford Boase Award for her debut novel, The Next Together. She lives in the West Midlands in the United Kingdom.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Sky Pony (June 13, 2017)
  • Length: 368 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781510710269
  • Grades: 8 - 8
  • Ages: 14 - 99

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“A heartbreaking and unpredictable love story spanning time and space.” --Melinda Salisbury, author of The Sin Eater’s Daughter

“Such an absorbing book. Lauren James spins together multiple timelines and plot threads to create a story that’s complex and intriguing without ever being confusing. An accomplished debut.” --Kendra Leighton, author of Glimpse

“An explosion of storytelling. It’s everything that I love about books. Read it.” --Alice Oseman, author of Solitaire

“Packed with humor, adventure, conspiracy, and epic romance, The Next Together is a sensational debut that is sure to put you on the edge of your seat and keep you there.” --Catherine Doyle, author of Vendetta

“A funny, gripping, and incredibly imaginative story of true love and reincarnation.” --Louise O’Neill, author of Only Ever Yours
"An ambitious, promising premise . . . James is one to watch." --Kirkus Reviews

"Interspersed with love notes, emails, and blog posts, this work captures not only the love between the couple but the danger surrounding their circumstances. Fans of Alexandra Bracken’s Passenger and Heidi Heilig’s The Girl from Everywhere0 will enjoy this romance through time and history. . . . This science fiction take on European history will excite any historical fiction reader. Although the main characters are teens, this title also has crossover adult appeal." --School Library Journal

"The Next Together is a heartbreaking tale of love, loss, greater good, and sacrifice." --Foreword Reviews

“A heartbreaking and unpredictable love story spanning time and space.” --Melinda Salisbury, author of The Sin Eater’s Daughter

“Such an absorbing book. Lauren James spins together multiple timelines and plot threads to create a story that’s complex and intriguing without ever being confusing. An accomplished debut.” --Kendra Leighton, author of Glimpse

“An explosion of storytelling. It’s everything that I love about books. Read it.” --Alice Oseman, author of Solitaire

“Packed with humor, adventure, conspiracy, and epic romance, The Next Together is a sensational debut that is sure to put you on the edge of your seat and keep you there.” --Catherine Doyle, author of Vendetta

“A funny, gripping, and incredibly imaginative story of true love and reincarnation.” --Louise O’Neill, author of Only Ever Yours
"An ambitious, promising premise . . . James is one to watch." --Kirkus Reviews

"Interspersed with love notes, emails, and blog posts, this work captures not only the love between the couple but the danger surrounding their circumstances. Fans of Alexandra Bracken’s Passenger and Heidi Heilig’s The Girl from Everywhere0 will enjoy this romance through time and history. . . . This science fiction take on European history will excite any historical fiction reader. Although the main characters are teens, this title also has crossover adult appeal." --School Library Journal

"The Next Together is a heartbreaking tale of love, loss, greater good, and sacrifice." --Foreword Reviews

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Lauren James