The Complete Gideon Trilogy

The Time Travelers; The Time Thief; The Time Quake

LIST PRICE $26.99
Price may vary by retailer
BUY FROM:
BUY FROM SIMON & SCHUSTER:
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day
About The Book

Time travel to eighteenth-century London in this complete trilogy of what Entertainment Weekly calls “a rollicking historical adventure,” now available as a collectible boxed set.

Time itself is splintering. It turns out that traveling through time has catastrophic consequences, but in 1763 London, Lord Luxon only has eyes for time travel’s awesome possibilities. He has his sights set on capturing the prize of America, and he abducts Peter and Kate from the present day in order to enact to his plan. Suddenly in another century, Peter and Kate begin to understand that history has arrived at its tipping point. And as they pursue their nemesis through the dark streets of eighteenth-century London, they realize that a monster may hold the fate of the world in his hands.

Ideal for fans of J.K. Rowling and with the lively thrills of Quantum Leap and Back to the Future, this boxed set includes paperback editions of The Time Travelers, The Time Thief, and The Time Quake.

About The Author
Photograph by Jerry Bauer

Linda Buckley-Archer is the author of the critically acclaimed Gideon trilogy. Originally trained as a linguist, she is now a full-time novelist and scriptwriter. She has written a television drama for the BBC and several radio dramas, as well as various journalistic pieces for papers like the Independent. The Gideon Trilogy was inspired by the criminal underworld of eighteenth-century London.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (October 2014)
  • Length: 1424 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781481426138
  • Grades: 5 - 9
  • Ages: 10 - 14

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"So convincing a picture of the 18th century that we feel transported ourselves, this first book of a planned trilogy of time-travel adventures is skilled, engrossing and irresistible. The reader, like the protagonists, will find it hard to return to the present."

– Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week

"A time-slip novel, deftly handled. The year 1763 is beautifully evoked, as is the present day...Hard to imagine it being done better. A real find, leaving you hungry for more."

– Philip Ardagh, The Guardian

"The novel abounds with period detail, effortlessly woven into the plot...Tanglewreck, like Gideon the Cutpurse...is partly a satire on our current perception that we all have too little time to change the nature of reality, rather than our own greed and impatience. Neither should be missed."

– Amanda Craig, The Times

"The cliff-hanger ending leaves you longing for the next book."

– The Independent, 10 Best Books for ages 8-12

"Great fun and a really good adventure..."

– Kate Scarborough, The Guardian

"...a thrilling tale of dashing highwaymen and sinister villains. Full of flavour and witty flourishes, this should be a huge summer favourite."

– The Bookseller, Bookseller's Choice

"There is much to recommend in this book. The 18th century is vividly and lovingly brought to life...There are many excellent characters (among them a truly repellent villain called The Tar Man), a swift pace and an absorbing plot. It's convincing and exciting and I loved it."

– Publishing News, Bookseller's Choice

"Buckley-Archer may very well give J. K. Rowling a run for her money. This wonderfully rich and complex novel, written in lyrical and vivid language, is destined to be a classic. History interweaves with science, social issues in both centuries are thrown in; yet what readers will remember most is a fast-paced plot with a cliff-hanger ending and multi-dimensional characters who continue to inhabit their thoughts long after the book is closed. With appeal for reluctant and advanced readers, this novel is a rare gem."

– School Library Journal, Starred Choice

The concluding volume to the trilogy "for kids who love Harry Potter"

– EntertainmentWeekly.com

"If you have kids who love Harry Potter and are constantly casting about for similar books to read, [The Time Travelers] might be just the ticket."

– Entertainment Weekly.com

"Buckley-Archer may very well give J. K. Rowling a run for her money. This wonderfully rich and complex novel, written in lyrical and vivid language, is destined to be a classic....History interweaves with science, social issues in both centuries are thrown in; yet what readers will remember most is a fast-paced plot with a cliff-hanger ending....A rare gem."

--

– School Library Journal, starred review

"Buckley-Archer spins a rip-roaring tale replete with the raw details of life in the 18th century...nonstop action, appealing secondary characters, and healthy dollops of humor, all of which will have readers panting for the sequel."

– Kirkus Reviews

"May very well give J. K. Rowling a run for her money."

– School Library Journal

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Linda Buckley-Archer

More books in this series: The Gideon Trilogy