Skip to Main Content

The Best Horror of the Year Volume Thirteen

Edited by Ellen Datlow
Published by Night Shade
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

From Ellen Datlow (“the venerable queen of horror anthologies” (New York Times) comes a new entry in the series that has brought you stories from Stephen King and Neil Gaiman comes thrilling stories, the best horror stories available.

For more than four decades, Ellen Datlow has been at the center of horror. Bringing you the most frightening and terrifying stories, Datlow always has her finger on the pulse of what horror readers crave. Now, with the thirteenth volume of the series, Datlow is back again to bring you the stories that will keep you up at night. Encompassed in the pages of The Best Horror of the Year have been such illustrious writers as: Neil Gaiman, Stephen King, Stephen Graham Jones, Joyce Carol Oates, Laird Barron, Mira Grant, and many others.

With each passing year, science, technology, and the march of time shine light into the craggy corners of the universe, making the fears of an earlier generation seem quaint. But this light creates its own shadows. The Best Horror of the Year chronicles these shifting shadows. It is a catalog of terror, fear, and unpleasantness as articulated by today’s most challenging and exciting writers.

"For over a decade now, [The Best Horror of the Year] anthology has charted the established masters and rising new voices of horror fiction, and provided an exhaustive catalog of every major novel, novella, and collection published in the past year. Now reaching Lucky Number 13, the series shows no signs of slowing down any time soon—in fact, its latest installment is one of the strongest yet." —Alex Skopic, Signal Horizon