The 13th Apostle

A Novel of a Dublin Family, Michael Collins, and the Irish Uprising

LIST PRICE $26.95
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

The story—both romantic and terrifying—of how a handful of men, armed with nothing more than handguns and guts, forced the greatest nation in the world from their shores.

On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, the first great revolution of the twentieth century began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland, including the general post office on O’Connell Street. Among the commoners in the GPO was a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers named Michael Collins. He was joined a day later by a fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.

The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins, along with his young acolyte Eoin, transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins’s secret weapon was his intelligence system and his assassination squad, nicknamed “The Twelve Apostles.” On November 21, 1920, the squad—with its thirteenth member, young Eoin—assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the Treaty at 10 Downing Street, which brought into being what is, today, the Republic of Ireland.

An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan’s The Year of the French and Leon Uris’s Trinity, The 13th Apostle is a story that will capture the imagination and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.

Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade, Yucca, and Good Books imprints, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction—novels, novellas, political and medical thrillers, comedy, satire, historical fiction, romance, erotic and love stories, mystery, classic literature, folklore and mythology, literary classics including Shakespeare, Dumas, Wilde, Cather, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

About The Author

Dermot McEvoy is the author of five previous books, including The 13th Apostle: A Novel Of Michael Collins And The Irish Uprising. His writing can be found on IrishCentral.com. He lives in Jersey City, NJ.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Skyhorse (February 4, 2014)
  • Length: 592 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781626365612

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“Dermot McEvoy paints a gripping you-are-there portrait of revolutionary Ireland in The 13th Apostle. The job of rescuing a nation from its fate as an exploited colony was certain to be an epic task, and McEvoy’s expertly paced novel conjures the streets and characters with a historian’s keen eye…McEvoy…paints a portrait of the man in full, creating one of the most richly detailed character studies of Collins that I have ever read…There are many books about Collins, but few that understand his challenge and his accomplishments the way McEvoy’s The 13th Apostle does. Collins didn’t just change Irish history; he reinvented it and the nation’s trajectory through action and sheer force of mind. McEvoy knows this as few others do, and The 13th Apostle tells the tale.”—Cahir O’Doherty, Irish Voice

“Anyone who’s ever doubted the truth of William Faulkner’s famous assertion that “the past is never dead—it’s not even past” should read Dermot McEvoy’s The 13th Apostle. McEvoy gives us the story of the Irish War for Independence in all its vivid, intimate, squalid, intricate, heroic, and tragic immediacy. The dust and cobwebs are dispelled. Sepia turns technicolor. In McEvoy’s hands, the past lives, breathes and walks among us. This is historical fiction of a rare and wonderful sort.”
—Peter Quinn, author of Banished Children of Eve on The 13th Apostle

“The 13th Apostle is a compelling blow-by-blow account of the efforts Michael Collins led to bring independence to Ireland.” —Publishers Weekly

“Dermot McEvoy paints a gripping you-are-there portrait of revolutionary Ireland in The 13th Apostle. The job of rescuing a nation from its fate as an exploited colony was certain to be an epic task, and McEvoy’s expertly paced novel conjures the streets and characters with a historian’s keen eye…McEvoy…paints a portrait of the man in full, creating one of the most richly detailed character studies of Collins that I have ever read…There are many books about Collins, but few that understand his challenge and his accomplishments the way McEvoy’s The 13th Apostle does. Collins didn’t just change Irish history; he reinvented it and the nation’s trajectory through action and sheer force of mind. McEvoy knows this as few others do, and The 13th Apostle tells the tale.”—Cahir O’Doherty, Irish Voice

“Anyone who’s ever doubted the truth of William Faulkner’s famous assertion that “the past is never dead—it’s not even past” should read Dermot McEvoy’s The 13th Apostle. McEvoy gives us the story of the Irish War for Independence in all its vivid, intimate, squalid, intricate, heroic, and tragic immediacy. The dust and cobwebs are dispelled. Sepia turns technicolor. In McEvoy’s hands, the past lives, breathes and walks among us. This is historical fiction of a rare and wonderful sort.”
—Peter Quinn, author of Banished Children of Eve on The 13th Apostle

“The 13th Apostle is a compelling blow-by-blow account of the efforts Michael Collins led to bring independence to Ireland.” —Publishers Weekly

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Dermot McEvoy