Skip to Main Content

Tales from the Iowa Hawkeyes Sideline

A Collection of the Greatest Hawkeyes Stories Ever Told

Published by Sports Publishing
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

In the newly revised and updated edition of Tales from the Iowa Hawkeyes Sidelines, fans can indulge in nearly 100 years of Iowa football history, beginning with the unbeaten teams of 1921 and 1922. Readers will share the vivid memories of captain Erwin Prasse and teammate George “Red” Frye as they flash back to the 1939 Ironmen, led by Heisman Trophy-winner Nile Kinnick. Hawkeye fans can also read about Forest Evashevski’s two Rose Bowl championship teams in the 1950s, the resurgence of the program under coach Hayden Fry in the ’80s and ’90s, and the marvelous 2002 season, during which the team won a record eleven games. Ron Maly reveals the intriguing scenarios that brought All-Americans Calvin Jones and Alex Karras to Iowa, the touching story of how former star Bob Stoops placed his Rose Bowl ring in his father’s casket, and why the 1985 Hawkeyes were the top-ranked team in America for five weeks. Iowa fans will follow Maly on a nostalgic trip with their beloved team through over a century of triumphs and tragedies, fun and frustration, and legend and lore in Tales from the Iowa Hawkeyes Sidelines.

More books in this series: Tales from the Team