Skip to Main Content

Snake in the Parsonage

Snake in the Parsonage includes the poems for which Jean Janzen received The Creative Writing Fellowship in Poetry from the National Endowment for the Arts (selected by a panel of major poets).

Here Janzen shows us life--colored deeply and in irrepressible light. She finds both ecstasy and incompleteness -- while waiting, at the piano and in the halls of the old people's home, lying in the field, shrieking in the cellar, standing at the blackboard. Poems here include:

  • New Country
  • Anna Reiger at the Blackboard
  • Note to Dee
  • Snake in the Parsonage
  • How They Loved
  • Finding the Pearl
  • Story of Leave
  • The Jewish Bridge
  • Cover Me
  • Watermelon Pickles
  • Country Home
  • And more!

For fans of Janzen or poetry in general, reading these will be a rich, rewarding experience.

  • Publisher: Good Books (October 1, 1995)
  • Length: 73 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781561481774