Lake of Darkness

A Novel

LIST PRICE $15.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

An alternate history where power, crime, and the supernatural intersect on the South Side of Chicago.

During the First World War, on the South Side of Chicago, officer Joe “Flip” Flippity has begun an investigation into a serial decapitationist who is hunting young children. At a time when African American officers are rendered second-class by prejudicial policies, Flip is nonetheless called upon by the mayor of the city—the legendary Big Bill Thompson himself—and a host of powerful city fathers, to thwart this murderer who threatens to destroy the city's reputation as a safe haven for those making the Great Migration north. 

While searching to catch his killer—and to discover why the most powerful men in Chicago are truly concerned about the murders of poor black refugees—Flip's bloody trail takes him through the South Side’s vice districts (where anything is available for a price), across its most dangerous criminal underbellies, and into a bracing and unexpected world of supernatural horror.

As Flip digs deeper in his quest to protect the city’s most vulnerable, he stumbles upon more mysterious murders, confounding psychological puzzles, and terrifying hints of something "other" that may reach across from unknowable distances to guide the hand of a killer. It soon becomes apparent that all is not as it seems, and that mysterious and powerful forces are conspiring to stand in Flip’s way.

A combination of detective thriller, cosmic horror, and historical fiction, Lake of Darkness takes us to the deepest and darkest places in Chicago’s very dark history.

Raves and Reviews

Praise for Lake of Darkness

“Scott Kenemore’s new novel is a Chicago tale as strange and bizarre as the twin murders at its heart. He recreates the past with an unerring sense of place, delving into the nightmares that haunted us then as much as they do now. LAKE OF DARKNESS is an exceptional read.”—Simon Strantzas, author of NOTHING IS EVERYTHING
 
"If there is a definitive voice of Midwestern horror, Scott Kenemore is it. He has infused LAKE OF DARKNESS with lean, powerful prose and a deeply absorbing mystery. Fans of Laird Barron and Victor LaValle will devour this refreshing blend of crime, noir, the occult, and cosmic terror. It's a page-turning thriller that shows, once again, that more people should be paying attention to Kenemore’s work."—Joanna Parypinski, author of DARK CARNIVAL

Praise for Scott Kenemore

“Scott Kenemore writes with a deadpan wit that makes you keep turning pages.” – The Cleveland Plain Dealer (for Zombie, Ohio)

“I think Scott Kenemore might be one of the best literary stylists working in the horror field right now.  Horror in the heartland has a new master scribe, and his name is Scott Kenemore!” – Joe McKinner, Bram Stoker Award–winning author of The Savage Dead and Dog Days (for Zombie, Indiana)

“With Zombie, Indiana, Scott Kenemore shows once again why he is the most exciting author of zombie fiction working today.” Matt Mogk, author of Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Zombies, and President of the Zombie Research Society

" Kenemore creates an authentic sense of place and character in ravaged Chicago as well as wittily sustained tension throughout." – Publishers Weekly (starred review for Zombie, Illinois)

“[A] very clever, heartfelt […] epic about what might happen if the mayor of Chicago were eaten by a zombie on television and aldermen instigated an armed overthrow.” – Chicago Tribune (for Zombie, Illinois)
 

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Scott Kenemore