I Saw Him Die

A Novel

LIST PRICE $17.00
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

From the author of the “fast-paced, pleasingly twisted, and creepy thriller” (Shelf Awareness, starred review) A Talent for Murder and Death in a Desert Land comes another intelligent mystery filled with countless twists and turns following the Queen of Crime, Agatha Christie, as she investigates a hotel owner’s mysterious death.

Bestselling novelist and part-time undercover sleuth Agatha Christie is looking forward to a bit of rest and relaxation after solving an intricately planned murder in the middle-eastern ruins of Ur. But shortly after arriving home in London, her longtime friend Agent Davidson pleads with her to help him protect a retired British agent turned hotelier who has been receiving threatening letters.

Together they travel to the Dallach Lodge, a beautiful estate on Scotland’s picturesque Isle of Skye, where they insert themselves among the hotel’s illustrious guests. Among the residents are members of the owner’s family, a leading lady of the theater, a brilliant botanist, a local doctor, and two sisters who co-author romance novels. After a pleasant initial evening, Agatha is unconvinced that any of them are capable of evil, much less murder.

But early the next morning, the bang of a gunshot rings out and the hotel owner is found dead in the arms of his nephew. At first, it appears to be a simple hunting accident but as Agatha digs deeper, she discovers that each and every one of the residents has a reason for wanting the late proprietor dead.

A “fiendishly well-plotted, hugely entertaining” (Lucy Foley, author of The Hunting Party) whodunit filled with red herrings and double-crosses, I Saw Him Die takes you on a breath-taking and thrilling ride through the Scottish Highlands.

About The Author

Photograph © Johnny Ring

Andrew Wilson is an award-winning journalist and author. His work has appeared in a wide variety of publications including the Guardian, the Washington Post, the Sunday Times, and the Smithsonian Magazine. He is the author of four acclaimed biographies, a book about the survivors of the Titanic, and the novels, The Lying Tongue, A Talent for Murder, A Different Kind of Evil, Death in a Desert Land.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Washington Square Press (July 21, 2020)
  • Length: 352 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781501197567

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Praise for Death in a Desert Land

“A heart of darkness beats within this sparkling series. Fizzy with charm yet edged with menace, Andrew Wilson’s Christie novels do Dame Agatha proud. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Jacqueline Winspear.”

– A.J. Finn, internationally bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

“[An] ingenious third whodunit... Wilson cleverly riffs on one of Christie’s own novels en route to a crafty and satisfying solution. Wilson strikes gold again.” 

– Publishers Weekly

"An exceptionally intricate mystery...with so much ingenuity lavished on the hyperextended finale that everyone will find something to treasure before the curtain comes down."

– Kirkus

"Beautifully written. Both lyrical and compelling. I felt as though I was walking by Agatha Christie's side"

– Jane Corry, author of My Husband’s Wife

"Fiendishly well-plotted, hugely entertaining."

 

 

– Lucy Foley, bestselling author of The Hunting Party

Praise for A Talent for Murder

“[A] twisty thriller…Wilson fully realizes the potential of this ominous setup.”

– Publishers Weekly

"The queen of crime is the central character in this audacious mystery, which reinvents the story of her mysterious disappearance with thrilling results."

– The Guardian

Praise for A Different Kind of Evil

"Stellar...a crafty whodunit worthy of the queen of mystery herself."

– Publishers Weekly

“Mystery fans who love Golden Age crime will enjoy watching Dame Agatha herself track the truth in a puzzle of someone else’s making…Readers can rejoice in the twisty plot and the curiously complex characters.”

– Booklist

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Andrew Wilson