Skip to Main Content

About The Book

The first “devilishly good” (The New York Times Book Review) book in the thrilling bestselling crime series featuring British inspector Alan Banks as he seeks to catch a Jack the Ripper-like killer who is prowling the countryside.

Chief Inspector Alan Banks moved away from London to the quaint village of Eastvale to find some peace, but trouble can be found in a village as well as in the city. Soon Banks must contend with a Peeping Tom, a group of thieving young thugs, and the brutal murder of an elderly woman in her home. A growing friendship with psychologist Jenny Fuller and tension with wife Sandra complicate matters, particularly when Jenny and Banks’s family are threatened. Ultimately, as the story builds to a surprising and terrifying climax, Banks must make some hard decisions.

About The Author

Peter Robinson is a Canadian crime writer born in Britain. He is best known for his crime novels set in Yorkshire featuring Inspector Alan Banks. Books from the Inspector Banks Mystery Series have been translated into more than fifteen languages; Past Reason Hated won the 1991 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Novel and Wednesday’s Child was nominated for an Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America. Robinson currently divides his time between North America and the UK.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Scribner (November 19, 2013)
  • Length: 240 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781476745220

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Peter Robinson