Fractured

A Novel

LIST PRICE $25.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

From the author of Left (over 25,000 sold), a love story for fans of Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife and Jack Finney’s Time and Again. If you had the chance to go back and fix the past, could you change the outcome and outrun your destiny?

Sam Baird is lost. Is she experiencing a bout of amnesia or worse, slipping into the depths of madness? Her memories have been erased and everything she thought she knew is gone. She cannot even be certain of her name. She looks at the man standing beside her at the lake’s edge, but he is focused on something poking out from the water. She hears a whisper. Has he said something to her? Or is it just her intuition, warning her?

She closes her eyes, but there is nothing except darkness. The man beside her is both a stranger and strikingly familiar. She knows this man, and she has been in this exact moment—with this man, in this place, in this time—before. But this time is different.

Because this time, she runs.

Slowly, things begin to fall into place. She remembers now that she is supposed to move to New York City. She is supposed to get her law degree. She has her whole life planned. Running was the right choice, the safe choice.

But if Sam has really made the right choice this time, then why is it that she cannot stop thinking about the man at the lake? And why is it that he has jumped from her visions into her reality?

Is she bound to this man and this life? Or is she strong enough to stray from the path she had always believed she was destined to walk?

About The Author

Tamar Ossowski is married and has three children. She is also the author of Left. Ossowski resides in Needham, Massachusetts.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Skyhorse (September 3, 2019)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781510743823

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“Ossowski’s smart, time-twisting novel is a gorgeous exploration of whom we love and why, and how the past sometimes—extraordinarily—can bleed into the present. A gorgeously written page turner.” —Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You and Cruel Beautiful World

“Stellar. A complex and compulsive read. A beautifully written reflection on dreams vs. reality, self-determination and the people we're born to be.” —Christopher Meades, award-winning author of Hanna Who Fell from the Sky

"With the deftness of a magician, Tamar Ossowski masterfully whisks us into a world where the lines between dreaming and waking, between one life and another, dissolve. In this space of no-time, stories become palimpsests through which the truth blazes like a guide-star in a dark sky. Riveting and richly textured, Fractured bravely tackles themes of love, destiny, and freedom with a freshness and honesty that makes it impossible to put down." —Rita Zoey Chin, critically acclaimed author of Let the Tornado Come

"This book opens with a series of vague images: a woman signing a divorce decree, then standing at a lake with a familiar and devastating man; then, her memories disintegrate. Sam Baird is private, lonely, suffocated by her prickly mother and semi-absent father—and apparently, she’s also going to law school. Sam hurries to do what she must while also wondering why her brain is so broken. Yet she doesn’t pursue medical advice, finding that anytime she works on her art, she is able to access those buried recollections. Sam feels her way through her past, mostly fixating on Sol, a man she’d been obsessed with. As her present begins to collide with her new revelations, she must figure out how to integrate the two while coping with fresh trauma. While it might take the reader some time to become acclimated to this format, the writing is superb, and Sam is a sympathetic character dealing with some particularly difficult hardships. An esoteric, dreamy novel with a handful of twists, plus a side of gloomy tension." —Booklist

Praise for Left

“A haunting, sometimes harrowing portrait of the ways that love can go wrong—and how we can right it. . . . Trust me, you’ve never read anything like this—like a shadow, it will stick with you.” —Caroline Leavitt, author of the New York Times bestseller Pictures of You

"The vivid voices, deft plotting and, most of all, utterly original characters Tamar Ossowski has created in Left make it an unforgettable read. This is a book of unusual, even magical, compassion and heart." —Holly LeCraw, author of The Swimming Pool

Left is a delight. The story is told with elegance and warmth. Nothing is predictable, and yet in the end, it all makes perfect sense. But it is Ossowski's main characters, Franny and Matilda, that caught me with their fascinating, believable voices, and their endearing, very human flaws. Scrumptious, from beginning to end!" —Susan Senator, author of Dirt and Making Peace with Autism

“A brave and breathtaking new voice tells of love, loss, and the ties that connect us. Unforgettable characters and a story that unfolds tantalizingly make Tamar Ossowski's debut novel hard to put down and impossible to forget.” —Toby Devens, author of Happy Any Day Now

Praise for Left

“A haunting, sometimes harrowing portrait of the ways that love can go wrong—and how we can right it. . . . Trust me, you’ve never read anything like this—like a shadow, it will stick with you.” —Caroline Leavitt, author of the New York Times bestseller Pictures of You

"The vivid voices, deft plotting and, most of all, utterly original characters Tamar Ossowski has created in Left make it an unforgettable read. This is a book of unusual, even magical, compassion and heart." —Holly LeCraw, author of The Swimming Pool

Left is a delight. The story is told with elegance and warmth. Nothing is predictable, and yet in the end, it all makes perfect sense. But it is Ossowski's main characters, Franny and Matilda, that caught me with their fascinating, believable voices, and their endearing, very human flaws. Scrumptious, from beginning to end!" —Susan Senator, author of Dirt and Making Peace with Autism

“A brave and breathtaking new voice tells of love, loss, and the ties that connect us. Unforgettable characters and a story that unfolds tantalizingly make Tamar Ossowski's debut novel hard to put down and impossible to forget.” —Toby Devens, author of Happy Any Day Now

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Tamar Ossowski