Skip to Main Content

Firewalkers

A Recondito Novel

A police investigation threatens to unleash a city’s secret history of evil in the gritty urban fantasy sequel to Firewalk, from the New York Times bestselling author and co-creator of the comic book-turned hit TV show iZombie.

After reopening a long-closed murder investigation, FBI agent Izzie Lefevre and police detective Patrick Tevake have uncovered a bizarre connection between a dangerous new drug on the streets of Recondito, California, and a series of mass murders and serial killings carried out around the coastal city going back at least one hundred years.

Their discovery has unlocked a secret history of mystics and madmen who believed that Recondito is a special place, where it was possible to make contact with beings from other planes of existence, beings best described as demons. For generations there have been those who secretly dedicated themselves to protecting humanity against threats from beyond our world, but Izzie and Patrick realize that their investigation not only eliminated the last remaining defender, but they are now the only ones standing in the way of a full scale invasion.

Praise for Firewalkers

This follow-up to iZombie, cocreator Roberson’s Firewalk is a gritty, action-packed urban fantasy . . . [readers] will be hooked by the intriguing town of Recondito and the relationships among its engaging characters.”—Library Journal

“The continuation of the fight against evil and the Ridden is an imaginative take on possession and zombie stories, with unique heroes that make the series stand out.”—Booklist

Praise for Chris Roberson and the Recondito Novels

“[A] gripping supernatural thriller . . . Terrific pacing and detailed police work mixed with supernatural elements will serve well horror and urban fantasy fans alike.
Library Journal, starred review

“A novel that's part True Detective and part Lovecraft. . . . The plot is engaging, and Roberson really shines in building the relationships and dialogue. . . . The end will have horror fans ready for the sequel.
Publishers Weekly

Firewalk is as entertaining as can be, filled with humor and a satisfying depth of plot. The characters are skillfully crafted and demonstrate exceptional savvy without becoming implausible. Peering around the corners in Recondito is wicked good fun; Roberson's fantasy comics background . . . has prepared him to tell this tale of the occult with a marked sense of believability.
Shelf Awareness, reviewed by Rob LeFebvre

“Lefevre, Tevake and their supporting cast, not to mention the fictional location Recondito, are compellingly drawn, and their pursuit of the current evil and attempt to finally understand the killer they stopped years ago strikes a nice balance between understandable skepticism and a justifiable (and life-saving) willingness to take what they find at face value. . . . memorably creepy and tense.”—4.5 Stars
—a RT Book Reviews Top Pick,
reviewed by Ian Mathers

A haunting thriller in which ancient evil and modern tech intertwine in streets of a dying city—and where the darkness hides things much older and more frightening than the darkness itself.”
—Richard Kadrey, New York Times bestselling author of Sandman Slim


“Smart, tough, and scary as hell. Roberson delivers authentic-feeling police action while spinning us down into a pit (or mineshaft) of horrors.
—Mike Mignola, creator of Hellboy

Firewalk turns the police procedural on its ear. Roberson’s Recondito is a simmering melting pot of diverse characters and long-buried evil. It's a compelling urban fantasy locale I look forward to returning to.
—Michael J. Martinez, author of The Daedalus Incident and MJ-12: Inception

Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child’s Agent Pendergast series will find a lot to love here, but Roberson takes things a few steps further: by introducing an inclusive cast of characters, and by bringing together Haitian Voodoo, ancient Mayan mythology, cosmology, and even a South Pacific cargo cult. If you’re looking for a cop story with a heavy dose of the supernatural, Firewalk is the book for you.
—Matthew Sturges, author of Midwinter and The Office of Shadow

Firewalk is X-Files for grownups: weird doings in Lovecraftian caverns, Mayan mythology coming to life, and more. A spine-tingling treat from a consummate pro.
—Dennis O’Flaherty, author of The Calorium Wars

Chris Roberson is always surprising you because you thought you knew where he was going and what he was going to do, but his plots are always a bit deeper than you thought, the knife a bit sharper. In Firewalk, he twists that knife like a drill.
—Paul Tobin, author of Prepare To Die!

A scorching thriller that expertly blends horror, science fiction, and urban fantasy, Firewalk is an excellent launch to what promises to be a spellbinding series.
—Richard Cox, author of The Boys of Summer

Roberson’s expertise as a television and comic-book writer adds a cinematic flair to his story.
Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Firewalkers

This follow-up to iZombie, cocreator Roberson’s Firewalk is a gritty, action-packed urban fantasy . . . [readers] will be hooked by the intriguing town of Recondito and the relationships among its engaging characters.”—Library Journal

“The continuation of the fight against evil and the Ridden is an imaginative take on possession and zombie stories, with unique heroes that make the series stand out.”—Booklist

Praise for Chris Roberson and the Recondito Novels

“[A] gripping supernatural thriller . . . Terrific pacing and detailed police work mixed with supernatural elements will serve well horror and urban fantasy fans alike.
Library Journal, starred review

“A novel that's part True Detective and part Lovecraft. . . . The plot is engaging, and Roberson really shines in building the relationships and dialogue. . . . The end will have horror fans ready for the sequel.
Publishers Weekly

Firewalk is as entertaining as can be, filled with humor and a satisfying depth of plot. The characters are skillfully crafted and demonstrate exceptional savvy without becoming implausible. Peering around the corners in Recondito is wicked good fun; Roberson's fantasy comics background . . . has prepared him to tell this tale of the occult with a marked sense of believability.
Shelf Awareness, reviewed by Rob LeFebvre

“Lefevre, Tevake and their supporting cast, not to mention the fictional location Recondito, are compellingly drawn, and their pursuit of the current evil and attempt to finally understand the killer they stopped years ago strikes a nice balance between understandable skepticism and a justifiable (and life-saving) willingness to take what they find at face value. . . . memorably creepy and tense.”—4.5 Stars
—a RT Book Reviews Top Pick,
reviewed by Ian Mathers

A haunting thriller in which ancient evil and modern tech intertwine in streets of a dying city—and where the darkness hides things much older and more frightening than the darkness itself.”
—Richard Kadrey, New York Times bestselling author of Sandman Slim


“Smart, tough, and scary as hell. Roberson delivers authentic-feeling police action while spinning us down into a pit (or mineshaft) of horrors.
—Mike Mignola, creator of Hellboy

Firewalk turns the police procedural on its ear. Roberson’s Recondito is a simmering melting pot of diverse characters and long-buried evil. It's a compelling urban fantasy locale I look forward to returning to.
—Michael J. Martinez, author of The Daedalus Incident and MJ-12: Inception

Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child’s Agent Pendergast series will find a lot to love here, but Roberson takes things a few steps further: by introducing an inclusive cast of characters, and by bringing together Haitian Voodoo, ancient Mayan mythology, cosmology, and even a South Pacific cargo cult. If you’re looking for a cop story with a heavy dose of the supernatural, Firewalk is the book for you.
—Matthew Sturges, author of Midwinter and The Office of Shadow

Firewalk is X-Files for grownups: weird doings in Lovecraftian caverns, Mayan mythology coming to life, and more. A spine-tingling treat from a consummate pro.
—Dennis O’Flaherty, author of The Calorium Wars

Chris Roberson is always surprising you because you thought you knew where he was going and what he was going to do, but his plots are always a bit deeper than you thought, the knife a bit sharper. In Firewalk, he twists that knife like a drill.
—Paul Tobin, author of Prepare To Die!

A scorching thriller that expertly blends horror, science fiction, and urban fantasy, Firewalk is an excellent launch to what promises to be a spellbinding series.
—Richard Cox, author of The Boys of Summer

Roberson’s expertise as a television and comic-book writer adds a cinematic flair to his story.
Kirkus Reviews

More books from this author: Chris Roberson