Double Solitaire

A Thriller

About The Book

A tantalizing LA Thriller by Legendary American Writer, Craig Nova, for fans of Michael Connelly and James Ellroy.

Quinn O’Farrell is a modern-day fixer in Los Angeles — he cleans up other people’s messes. Rich people’s messes. For a lot of money. He’s so good that he’s become indispensable to Hollywood moguls and he’s managed to construct a working moral framework so that he can live with himself. That is until a new neighbor moves next door, Rose Marie, who works with terminally ill teens. Against all his survival instincts, Quinn falls in love with Rose Marie and then her uncanny patients, who shine a spotlight into his soul. When a client steps over the line and Quinn is hired to clean up after a reprehensible crime, Quinn’s carefully constructed ethical house of cards comes crashing down. Hell hath no fury like a man who has deceived himself and Quinn unleashes his own storm of reckoning that threatens to take down the power elite in Hollywood and he doesn’t care who goes down with them, even if that includes himself. 

Double Solitaire is the first in a series of LA-based thrillers featuring Quinn O’Farrell, The Cleaner. As with all Nova’s deeply intuitive fiction, Quinn is an unforgettable living force in a setting that needs no fiction to be any weirder than it is: contemporary Hollywood. 
 

Product Details

  • Publisher: Arcade Crimewise (November 3, 2020)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781950691227

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“I wouldn't delay reading a novel of Nova's, not even to complete one of my own.” — John Irving

Of the writers writing in America today, Nova is one of the very greatest.” — Michael Silverblatt, the host of Bookworm on KCRW
 
“[Nova’s fiction] is so powerful, so alive,it is a wonder that turning its pages doesn’t somehow burn one’s hands.” —The New York Times

“I've read no better, no more bitter and ironic understanding of professional cunning and ambition since Joseph Heller's Something Happened. I've read no fuller mixture of human frailties, no more deft revelation of the chinks in moral armor since Robertson Davies's Leaven of Malice. I've read no more comic and painful exploration of the disasters of loneliness since Nabokov's Laughter in the Dark. As a virtuoso handling of first-person narration,The Good Son is as marvelous as Andre Brink's recent A Chain of Voices.…A pitch-perfect performance.” —John Irving, The New York Times)
 
“The Good Son is the work of an artist in full command, and those of you entering it for the first time can only be envied.” — Jonathan Yardley, The Washington Post
 
“What sticks in the mind long after the novel has been read, is its intelligence, compassion and — to introduce another old-fashioned idea — character.Craig Nova is a fine writer, one of our best, and if you haven’t read him, the loss is yours.” — Jonathan Yardley, The Washington Post
  
“The pacing of Cruisers is compulsive and relentless.” —The Boston Globe (for Cruisers,2004)
 
 “Once again, Craig Nova proves that his writing can be just as moving, just as entertaining and insightful, as that of the finest writers in anyone’s literary canon.” —St. Louis Post-Dispatch (about The Informer, 2010) 
 
“Long-awaited is an overused phrase in publisher’s promotional blurbs, but Nova’s follow-up to his acclaimed 1982 novel,The Good Son merits that description as much as any recent fiction, and it has been well worth the lengthy wait.” — Booklist (about All the Good Dead Yale Men, 2013)
 

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images