Skip to Main Content

A Ruckus in the Garden

The Adventures of Pettson and Findus

Published by NorthSouth Books
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

Pettson and Findus are back in this uproarious tale about gardening!  

When Pettson announces that it’s time to plant seeds in the garden, Findus, his cat, plants a meatball. The hilarity continues as each night their hard work is undone by hungry chickens, then a rogue pig. When cows set up shop, Pettson and Findus must hatch a plan to protect their garden and Findus’s meatballs.

Sven Nordqvist was born in Helsingborg, Sweden. Although he studied architecture, he always wanted to be an illustrator and found work illustrating advertisements, posters, and textbooks. In 1983 he won first prize in a children’s book competition and since then has worked as an author and illustrator of children’s books. He is a renowned children’s book illustrator and writer in Sweden and across Europe. When he’s not illustrating books for children, he spends time building playgrounds, children’s play areas at hospitals, and decorations for schools. Carpentry has always been an important part of Nordqvist’s life—often reflected in the actions of his industrious character Pettson—with the central goal being the enrichment of children’s lives. The beloved Pettson and Findus stories draw, in part, on Nordqvist’s loving observations of his two sons when they were younger. His unique illustrations are inspired by the delights of everyday life.

The colorful line-and-wash illustrations brim with lively details and exaggeration...Full of dramatic and comical moments, here’s a treat for fans of the Adventures of Pettson and Findus series

– Carolyn Phelan, Booklist

The charm of the writing has much to recommend it, but it's the art that is the true star of the show. No matter how raucous or riotous Nordqvist's illustrations become, there's still room to include little Zen details, such as the chicken with its comb in a single hair roller or a pair of pups in a tree staring lovingly at the moon. 

– Kirkus Reviews

More books from this author: Sven Nordqvist

More books in this series: The Adventures of Pettson and Findus