Something Like Gravity

Something Like Gravity

For Ages: 14 - 99
For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor and Park, a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time—and how first love changes us all—from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren’t off to a great start.

A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don’t fare much better. Chris’s good intentions backfire. Maia’s temper gets the best of her.

But they’re neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can’t seem to stay away from each other.

The path forward isn’t easy. Chris has come out as transgender, but he’s still processing a frightening assault he survived the year before. Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister and trying to find her place in the world without her. Falling in love was the last thing on either of their minds.

But would it be so bad if it happened anyway?
  • Margaret K. McElderry Books | 
  • 384 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781534437180 | 
  • June 2019 | 
  • Grades 9 and up
List Price $18.99 (price may vary by retailer)
Ships on or around June 18, 2019
Pre-order now from another retailer

More Books from this Author

Our Stories, Our Voices
The Last to Let Go
The Way I Used to Be

About the Author

Amber Smith
Photo by Deborah Triplett

Amber Smith

Amber Smith is the New York Times bestselling author of the young adult novels The Way I Used to Be and The Last to Let Go. An advocate for increased awareness of gendered violence, as well as LGBTQ equality, she writes in the hope that her books can help to foster change and spark dialogue surrounding these issues. She grew up in Buffalo, New York, and now lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, with two very spoiled dogs. You can find her online at AmberSmithAuthor.com.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US