Red Butterfly

Red Butterfly

Illustrated by: Amy June Bates
For Ages: 8 - 12
  • 4
A young orphaned girl in modern-day China discovers the meaning of family in this “heartbreaking, heartwarming, and impressive debut” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) told in verse, in the tradition of Inside Out and Back Again and Sold.

Kara never met her birth mother. Abandoned as an infant, she was taken in by an American woman living in China. Now eleven, Kara spends most of her time in their apartment, wondering why she and Mama cannot leave the city of Tianjin and go live with Daddy in Montana. Mama tells Kara to be content with what she has…but what if Kara secretly wants more?

Told in lyrical, moving verse, Red Butterfly is the story of a girl learning to trust her own voice, discovering that love and family are limitless, and finding the wings she needs to reach new heights.
  • Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers | 
  • 400 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781481411103 | 
  • February 2016 | 
  • Grades 3 - 7 | 
  • Lexile ® 830L
List Price $7.99
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day

About the Author

A.L. Sonnichsen
Photograph by Julie DeGuia

A.L. Sonnichsen

A.L. Sonnichsen grew up in Hong Kong and then spent eight years as an adult in China. She now lives in Washington State with her husband and five children. Red Butterfly is her first novel. Learn more at ALSonnichsen.blogspot.com.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US