Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times

Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times

Illustrated by: Glenn Thomas
For Ages: 8 - 12
In nineteenth-century England, a boy is about to discover a mysterious mechanical world he may never escape.

Ten-year-old Jack Foster has stepped through a doorway and into quite a different London.

Londinium is a smoky, dark, and dangerous place, home to mischievous metal fairies and fearsome clockwork dragons that breathe scalding steam. The people wear goggles to protect their eyes, brass grill insets in their nostrils to filter air, or mechanical limbs to replace missing ones.

Over it all rules the Lady, and the Lady has demanded a new son—a perfect flesh-and-blood child. She has chosen Jack. His only hope of escape lies with a legendary clockwork bird.

The Gearwing grants wishes—or it did, before it was broken—before it was killed. But some things don’t stay dead forever.

Fans of books like Splendors and Glooms and Goblin Secrets will find Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times irresistible!
  • Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers | 
  • 320 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781442498778 | 
  • May 2014 | 
  • Grades 3 - 7 | 
  • Lexile ® 810L
List Price $16.99
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day
Buy from another retailer

Read an Excerpt

More Books from this Author

The House of Months and Years
The Accidental Afterlife of Thomas Marsden

About the Author

Emma Trevayne
Photo credit: James Drew

Emma Trevayne

Emma Trevayne is a full-time writer. She is an avid music collector, a lover of computer code languages, and a photographer. She is the author of Coda, Chorus, Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times, and Spindrift and the Orchid. She has lived in Canada, England, and America.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US